A (Non) Response from Travis Jackson, Delta Customer Care Coordinator

October 25, 2011    REF #10982720

Dear Ms. Sandra Maxey

RE: Case Number 4683600

Our Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Richard Anderson, requests that I were and thank you for your correspondence regarding your previous travel with us on September 19. On behalf of everyone at Delta Air Lines, I sincerely apologize that your travel was impacted by a less than satisfactory experience due to customer service issues and luggage concerns.

Mr. Anderson really appreciates receiving your input regarding your professional analysis of our handling of your situation.  I acknowledge that you would like to provide us with the opportunity 1) develop and leverage deep customer insights and 2) to stand by our constitutional principles. Most important, your three clear points of your experience will be instrumental in assisting us to improve our operation and customer service. Many customers share their feedback with us, and these observations oftentimes form the basis for improvements in our service.

As our customer, you are in the best position to point out areas that need attention. I recognize that our agents provided misinformation and displayed rude service while interacting with you. Further, it is understood that some of our technology tools failed during your situation and has lead you to suspect that they are not meant to provide assistance. Also, I acknowledge your feeling that our airline does not demonstrate internal cohesiveness in operational functions.

Surely, our goal is to provide consistent and accurate information to our passengers at all times. I am truly sorry in this instance you did not receive the service you expected and should have received. The apology we offered was most sincere, and I hope someday we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence.

When our service does not meet our customer’s expectations, we feel it is important to acknowledge this and appeal for a degree of understanding. As such, I was pleased to learn our Baggage Services department has offered a gesture of apology in the form of a check for $1663.00 and $92.00 to demonstrate our commitment to customer service. I realize that incentives may not erase the negative impact of your past experiences, but I hope that an immediate recognition of them will symbolize our commitment to a future partnership.

Unfortunately, we will not be able to honor your request for total cost of $14,865.00. However, as an additional gesture of apology, I have issued an Electronic transportation Credit Voucher (eTCV) in the amount of $100.00. Please note the voucher number and associated Terms and Conditions will be arriving in a separate cover. Please keep the voucher number and the Terms and Conditions since the number is required for redemption. It is also important to remind you that there is no direct Ticketing fee for reservations confirmed online at delta.com. I hope this will not have a lasting impact on our business relationship.

Ms. Maxey, you are an integral part of our customer base and we are always interested in your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write. We deeply value your business and look forward to the pleasure of serving you in the months and years ahead.

Sincerely,

Travis Jackson

Coordinator, Corporate Customer Care

Delta Airlines

Tagged , , ,

9 thoughts on “A (Non) Response from Travis Jackson, Delta Customer Care Coordinator

  1. John Hayes says:

    I worked in consumer service for many years for a “major U.S. manufacturer of consumer goods” (think bleach), & I recognize the writing in this from the volumes of consumer service letters I’ve read over the years. My last function with that company was providing “quality assurance” on the outgoing consumer service emails (all the ones I reviewed were looked at after the fact as standard operating procedure, which tells you something right there.) Now the letter you wrote was amazing, & though I didn’t comment when I read it, I was afraid that no response was going to address it, simply based on my knowledge of consumer service departments. The fact that this response wasn’t even proofread well enough to correct a grammatical error in the first paragraph is obviously “just wrong,” but I have to see I’ve seen worse letters go out. In my experience–& despite all rhetoric to the contrary–large corporations see consumer service as one of the first places to cut when they look at the bottom line, & the trend toward outsourcing consumer service away from the parent company has been ongoing since the 90s & is probably just about complete at this point. This is just a travesty, but sadly, a routine travesty in the field. Best of luck if you continue to follow up on this.

  2. sandymaxey says:

    John:
    I really appreciate your perspective. I’m going to continue- mostly because I have absolutely nothing to lose. I stand to lose so much more beyond the luggage. They broke their own rules about appropriate carry on items. They did not allow me to retrieve these items. I’m not finished. I am so incredibly SICK of the Great Wall of Incoherence and their abject bullying of consumers.

    Thank you for your comment. I truly appreciate it.

    • John Hayes says:

      I think it’s good to persist. One piece of advice (which you probably know anyway): if you cash any checks or use any vouchers you may very well waive any rights you have to a claim (especially with checks.) As far as other tactics go: I would absolutely point out the grammatical error in the first sentence & I would go on to point out that the response absolutely doesn’t address your concerns; I’d also point out that your letter was intended for Anderson & that you would like a response directly from him–they will do everything they can to keep this from happening, but it might get you another step up the ladder. I’d also make sure they know about the fact that you’re tweeting about their poor response, that you have close to 2k followers & that you know some of these are retweeting your posts, so the readership is growing exponentially. They may well take this sort of bad publicity seriously. & above all: good luck!

  3. Ron Phillips says:

    Obviously, Delta had rather buy off your displeasure than try to run down your bag. Logically, they probably could find it if they tried but it would cost them so much more money. The questions I would be asking is: Did they give you a bag tag to your final destination or a gate check tag that only applied to the first segment? Do they have any record of the bag after it left CLT? Did it make it to your final destination? What was the company name to deliver bags in RI? Did it make other stops before your hotel? Could it have been dropped off at the wrong hotel and still there. I once saw a bag delivered to the wrong floor in the hotel where it sat until someone checked into that room. It they only gave a bagtag for gatecheck, I think it got to ATL and stopped. If it made it to RI, either the airport or its delivery service has got it or they dropped it at the wrong place. As for what to do now, call Clark Howard at WSB in ATlanta 404-892-8227. Or check his website for consumer action center. Good luck. I also think that we should retweet something over and over and get everyone else to do it too.

  4. sandymaxey says:

    I’ve given up on the bag. Apparently Delta is void of the capacity to locate the bag. At this juncture, I intend to exact compensation for the items lost, including the cost of the lost client deliverables.

    Remarkable to me that the Delta Gate Agent impeded my ability to follow the “No jewelry/no computer” in checked baggage guideline. She physically blocked my access to my bag when I told her there were items that should not be checked.

    Thank you for your suggestions, Ron. I appreciate your suggestions.

    • Ron Phillips says:

      Don’t forget that your Homeowners policy should cover the items you lost if you pay the deductible. That may be another way to Maxeymize your loss.

      • sandymaxey says:

        The thought of having to deal with another legacy industry known for the Great Wall of Incoherence and changing rules makes me want to weep. 😉

  5. voucher express
    Do you have a Facebook Fan Page I could subscribe to?

Leave a Reply

